First PCB

I spent many days designing this PCB, at first several times over in Eagle, but could never get the gerbers to work. So I switched to KiCad, where atleast the gerbers was no problem.

I was very hesitant at first, but eventually sent it off to JLCPCB to have it made.

first_pcb0

I know that it is overengineered, but I wanted a flicker-free display where each digit is completely controllable and can be individually addressed. Also wanted the LEDs to shine with the same intensity regardless of how many of them are lit.

It turned out just like I wanted. Nothing at all wrong with the PCB.

clock3

Lately I’ve gone ahead and designed and ordered two more. One dual-channel noise source and a rough draft Z80 prototype board. They have not yet arrived but I expect them within a week or two. I’ve already gone ahead and designed yet one more, but I’ll delay ordering it until I have more designs to order along with it.

Maybe I’m on my way to becoming a PCB master….

Leave a comment